Dialog Editors - Where to Cut Corners?
New Reply
Subscribe
pdubber
3rd July 2012
Old 3rd July 2012
Gear interested

Dialog Editors - Where to Cut Corners?

I need some help. I am an experienced freelance dialog editor, working on mostly British and Irish (and occasionally American) films and TV dramas.

Up until about five years ago, the normal dialog editing conditions here were as follows:
The production audio was one or two tracks
The dialog editor was not expected to do any volume automation or any notching, decrackling or other processing
The sound edit always started after picture lock, and only rarely would there be picture changes to deal with

The situation today is as follows:
All production audio is 4 - 8 tracks
Mixers would like me to cut both boom and radio tracks for all lines
Mixers are asking me to do not only volume automation (or now, clip gain) but also notching of tones, decrackling of cloth on radio mics, etc.
The sound edit almost always starts before picture lock and numerous conforms have become commonplace

So there is significantly more work to be done than there used to be. This in itself does not bother me, as I really enjoy the work. The problem is that, even with all these recent developments, my schedules are now significantly SHORTER than they were 5 years ago, particularly on lower-budget features and on TV drama.

My response so far to this situation (more work, less time) has been to work 70 - 90 hours per week (getting paid the same flat weekly rate as I would if I was doing 40 hours). This approach is becoming unsustainable. I'm getting burned out and I'm not spending enough time with my family. I'm a bit of a perfectionist (unfortunately), and I find it hard to compromise on quality in any way. But surely, there have to be compromises when there are short schedules and tiny budgets, right?