Contract for a score help. Any composers in?
eddie.machete
4th June 2012
Old 4th June 2012
Gear addict

Contract for a score help. Any composers in?

Hi guys. I've had a look around and I can't find some type of business sub forum or something, If there is one I can post in I'd appreciate a heads up!

My issue is, I've just accepted a request to write a score for a three part drama for free to build my portfolio before I launch myself as a business, I'm happy to do it, since it's for free there's no way I want to just give the music away and we have agreed there will be a contract involved stating the music can't be used anywhere else with all rights and licensing completely belonging to myself.
So I'm at the point now where I'm building themes and putting a mock together for the Director to hear, but I need to get this contract sent out to him.
I've never had to worry about these contracts as I am new to scoring.

Can anyone help with how to word the contract?
I'm not paying for a Lawyer.
What would be perfect would be If someone had a template in a pdf they use for such things!

I just don't want to hear my music on some tv drama thats making money and I'm not profiting from nor being credited for, down the line.
4th June 2012
Old 4th June 2012
Lives for gear

I suppose you could do a search and find some "standard" contract with a bunch of legal-speak. But, I would just write up a contract in plain English stating clearly what you are agreeing to.

When you say "three part drama", is this a movie? tv?
4th June 2012
Old 4th June 2012
Check PM
4th June 2012
Old 4th June 2012
Gear addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie.machete View Post
Hi guys. I've had a look around and I can't find some type of business sub forum or something, If there is one I can post in I'd appreciate a heads up!