Studio one xlr converter box.
Aston
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Gear interested

Studio one xlr converter box.

Hey all,

here's my setup. Boom and mics into 302 mixer, using breakaway cable with monitor return to studio one BP xlr converter box. The headphone return cable is plugged into the headphone hack on the box. Then the box is plugged into the canon 60.

Here's the issue. When the camera guy plugs into the headphone split hack, its really Loud and has no way of adjusting his volume. Any suggestions? This is my first time using this kind of box for the cannon. Usually run separate from camera but would like to have something to"tape" for reference in post. The signal is find but there's no volume adjust for the cameraman at the split.
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Gear Head

It's look like
Line level out in mic input

Try outputing from 302 xlr as mic level to 1/8 canon

Canon camera are automatic gain control, if you use magic lantern firmware hack, you will be able to set a fix input level in canon!

I hope this help !
Aston
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
Gear interested

Its going to the converter box first before the canon. That's the issue. Not the automatic gain control on the camera. The problem is the headphone return when plugged into the converter box has no volume adjust
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Lives for gear

3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Lives for gear

built in's

there are pro headphones available with built in volume control, those such can's are used in these kinds of situations and in recording studio's for musicians to have closer control over volume. I have about five pair's of califone brand school student type headphones that work great for musicians and crew alike. They have a volume pot directly on each phone to control left and right stereo signals.
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRANQUILO View Post