Left speaker not as loud as right? Help
Old 18th November 2009
Gear interested

Left speaker not as loud as right? Help

I am trying to figure out why my right speaker is louder then my left speaker. I am using the JBL LSR4328P. When I go to calibrate I can not get my left speaker to be as loud as my right speaker. What am I doing wrong? I am a noob and have never done a room calibration sorry. When I play 1k tone panned all to the right I get db of 77.0 and when I pan to the left all the same settings it is 73. What do I do to get the speakers playing at the same volume?
Old 18th November 2009
Gear maniac

Did you try switching cables? Do that first. A single-ended (shorted or broken) balanced cable can cause a drop in volume.

Second, now I'm not super familiar with the JBLs but aren't they the DSP powered monitors? Have you run the room calibration software?

Thirdly, RTFM

Best of luck
Peter
Old 18th November 2009
Gear maniac

It could also be the speaker placement within the room.

Try moving them to the exact same spot in the room and mono test through one at a time.
Old 18th November 2009
Gear interested

I think you are right. I will get a new cable and go from there. Thank you for the help. I at times just need someone to point out the obvious.
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by sysyphus300021 View Post
I am trying to figure out why my right speaker is louder then my left speaker. I am using the JBL LSR4328P. When I go to calibrate I can not get my left speaker to be as loud as my right speaker. What am I doing wrong? I am a noob and have never done a room calibration sorry. When I play 1k tone panned all to the right I get db of 77.0 and when I pan to the left all the same settings it is 73. What do I do to get the speakers playing at the same volume?
First, Read my "Room Calibration for Film and TV" on the DUC.
You use "Pink Noise NOT 1K tone" !!!!!
Follow the "sticky" .
Old 18th November 2009
Gear interested

Quote: