My solution to Piracy: Pay $19.99 a month, get everything
Old 13th October 2011
Lives for gear

My solution to Piracy: Pay $19.99 a month, get everything

Im not a lawyer, piracy expert, economist, or music industry employee. Just another musician producer trying to earn a living in this tough business. Heres my idea:

You pay $19.99 a month, and get access to 95%+ of all recorded music in a lossless compression format. You can listen to this music on your PC, phone, ipod, whatever, but the deal is once every 30 days you must connect to the internet to re-authorize the content. Possibly for a fee, you could buy a longer authorization.

Now you say, how could this work, why would people bother? Two reasons: convenience and quality. You have to make the website thats faster, more streamlined, and with more content than any torrent site in existence. Then, you bring the quality: lossless compression which supports up to 24/96, SACD, 5.1, you name it.

The way you beat the torrent sites is to beat them at their own game. Just offer more content, and at higher quality, with superfast downloads, for a flat monthly fee, and watch them die off.
Old 13th October 2011
Lives for gear

95%? lossless? Ahaha
Old 13th October 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdog View Post
Im not a lawyer, piracy expert, economist, or music industry employee. Just another musician producer trying to earn a living in this tough business. Heres my idea:

You pay $19.99 a month, and get access to 95%+ of all recorded music in a lossless compression format. You can listen to this music on your PC, phone, ipod, whatever, but the deal is once every 30 days you must connect to the internet to re-authorize the content. Possibly for a fee, you could buy a longer authorization.