Home production studio: Confusion about where to go from here.
Old 17th January 2014
Gear interested

Home production studio: Confusion about where to go from here.

Hi all, long time lurker, first time posting. I've been plagued with obscurity in which direction to lead with my home studio build. Finding my work flow has hindered me in deciding which angle i want to approach this from, and i think its time to reach out of my small circle of like minded friends...

Basically, im a pro bass player who loves to write, record and produce anything from rock, to jazz, to metal, to fusion...with a lion's share being electronic based. I have a rack full of gear, and i use Ableton for production mostly, and ProTools for tracking. I know how to use all my gear (mostly at least) and how to route it to do the things i want....but, never all at once. I find im always switching something around. Now....my main questions arise right here.

I do NOT want my monitors to only play the output from my Motu. So, as of now, 4 of my 12 mixer channels are playback channels. 2 from the Motu, 2 from my DJ gear. These both go to master out , and can be heard.

The other 8 Ins of the Motu, go to the patch bay.
The other 8 Outs of the Motu go to the patch bay.
The first 8 Ins of the Mixer go to the patch bay.
The first 8 inserts go to the patch bay.

ALL of the rack gear also gets routed through the patch bays, for ultimate control....but then....is it too much? Synths go to patch bays to mixer ins. Recording is done either through insert channels, or by swapping cables to the bus outputs of the mixer.

The mixer is the limitation here i think....first of all because it is finally dying and needs to be replaced, but im not sure which direction to go. Im about to add more synths and samplers to this equation. Here are my questions: