Login / Register

Best Cheapest Vocal Microphone Recommendations?
New Reply
Subscribe
Integralpix
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear interested

Best Cheapest Vocal Microphone Recommendations?

I'm very new to digital music making and have been experimenting with the Mixcraft software for the past couple of months. The software is so amazing and easy to use that I've decided not to waste money on replacing my real instruments.

However, I do want to purchase a microphone to add vocal tracks to my music. I'll probably record myself singing in the car with my laptop for now until I can build up some self-confidence. Since I'm just a beginner, I don't want to spend much money while experimenting. I'm hoping I can get some recommendations for a great starter mic I can purchase without breaking the bank--cheapest, minimum acceptable quality.

TIA
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear interested

Sm58 would be a good choice for you, it is kind of a standard live vocal mic but also very reliable in recording, it's about 120$
Integralpix
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear interested

$120? Are you sure that's the absolute cheapest that can be found?
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear interested

PDMIC58 - $12 cable with free microphone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integralpix View Post
I'm hoping I can get some recommendations for a great starter mic I can purchase without breaking the bank--cheapest, minimum acceptable quality.

TIA
Pyle Audio SM58 clone - PDMIC58 - $12 including cable on amazon.com. works fine for a dynamic mic. The cable is kind of chintzy, but a $12 cable always is. Oh, wait, that makes the microphone free.
Integralpix
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear interested

Now that's more like it, facej! :cheers:
27th December 2013
Old 27th December 2013
Gear maniac