JBL JRX225 + Pyle Pro Pexa 3000 - OK or disaster?
Old 13th October 2013
Gear interested

JBL JRX225 + Pyle Pro Pexa 3000 - OK or disaster?

Hi all,

I'm new to pro audio and was hoping to get some help/advice here on a system I'm assembling.

I want to know if I'm going to risk damage to my speakers with my current setup. I just picked up a pair of JBL JRX 225 speakers. They're rated 500-1000 Watts continuous at 4 Ohms. I sort of put the cart before the horse and impulsively acted on a Woot deal for 2 Pyle Pro Pexa 3000 amps. They're rated as follows:

Stereo Mode
- 250W X 2 @ 4 Ohms
- 150W X 2 @ 8 Ohms

Bridge Mono Mode
- 500W @ 8 Ohms

I'm currently running 1/8" headphone jack split to 2xXLR with one channel into each amp's input channel A. I'm then running a speaker per amp from the bridge output. Basically, I believe I'm getting 500W @ 8 Ohms into each speaker. Does this sound correct, and is this OK or a recipe for disaster?

Thanks in advance,
Mike
Old 13th October 2013
Lives for gear

The amp is rated at 8 ohm minimum in bridge mode. That means running a load of 4 ohms will eventually toast the amps.
Old 13th October 2013
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manfrensengensen View Post
The amp is rated at 8 ohm minimum in bridge mode. That means running a load of 4 ohms will eventually toast the amps.
Aw, I was afraid of that. Thanks for taking the time.

Cheers.
Old 13th October 2013
Lives for gear

Why would you torture yourself with PYLE of all brands? They are absolute garbage!

If you're that strapped for cash, you could've gotten a QSC GX3 for $300 USD!
Old 13th October 2013
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by azndnbdub View Post
Why would you torture yourself with PYLE of all brands? They are absolute garbage!

If you're that strapped for cash, you could've gotten a QSC GX3 for $300 USD!
Tom,