Recording with an analog mixer
Chrimen
13th October 2013
Old 13th October 2013
Gear interested

Recording with an analog mixer

Hi everyone!
Recently I bought a Soundcraft 800b for a good price, and I could need some advice on how to set it up and route it properly.
At the moment, Im not in possesion of the gear needed for a good studio setup. I just try to figure out the setup in theory.

Is this a well functioning signal path for recording?:
Source -> Mixer (included ext.preamps and eq etc.) -> Audio Interface -> Daw
Should there be a AD/DA converter included somewhere? Or does audio interfaces usually do this job?

Another question I have concerning this is: will there be any trouble (noise) because of the unbalanced i/o of the Soundcraft?

Thank you so much for helping me with this!
Please let me know if there are any similar post in here I didn`t notice
(this is my first time in here)
13th October 2013
Old 13th October 2013
Lives for gear

This mixer? number of channels
http://www.soundcraft.com/downloads/..._guides&id=493

If so EVERYTHING on it is balanced
XLR mic, line inputs
XLR direct outs, inserts, sends, returns
XLR main and aux outputs.

you need something like a Motu 24io to allow 24 direct outs and 24 line outs coming back to the board.

If you have 48ch. 1-24 for tracking.
25-48 coming back in to mix 24 trks.
13th October 2013
Old 13th October 2013
Lives for gear

You set up is correct. It will all depend on how many people or instruments you will record in one take on how you patch it to a DAW.

If it's only you and one thing at a time then any 2 x 2 interface will work.
For recording things like live drums you'll want a 6 or more inputs on the audio interface.

Yes the interface is your A/D.