New Reply
Subscribe
Lie Mf B
25th July 2013
Old 25th July 2013
Gear interested

Send a message via ICQ to Lie Mf B
Question Are these good EQ guidelines?

There's a nice guide called EQ By the Octave at the Recording Institute of Detroit which tells about how to use EQ filters on different instruments. I found it very useful, so I wrote a summary of its contents for quicker reference -- see below. I'm not an expert, however, and I would love to hear from you, if you're an experienced mixing engineer, what you think about these tips. Anything that seems wrong or could be done better? Anything to add? Thanks in advance!

EQ BY THE OCTAVE
Short tips based on EQ BY THE OCTAVE

By Frequency
------------
"First octave" (40-80 Hz)
Barely audible, mostly in large/good stereo systems
Most common in dance and hiphop music
Can be cut entirely
Below 40 Hz can be cut entirely to avoid unwanted boomy noise

Bass range (80-250 Hz)
Often centered around 100 and 200 Hz
Can give body and fullness to guitar and bass
Can also make guitar and bass boomy
Reduce around 100 Hz on guitar to make bass clearer
If 100 Hz is reduced, 200 Hz can be raised to make the sound less lumpy or uneven

Bass presence / lower midrange (250-500 Hz)
Often centered around 300 and 400 Hz
Can give clarity to bass instruments
Can make higher ranged instruments muddy and bassdrums "boxy"
Increase on bass guitar and lower on kick drum to separate
Is often lowered on overhead mikes and cymbals to give more presence
Is often lowered on bassdrums to reduce "boxiness"

Midrange (500-2000 Hz)
Often centered around 800-1500 Hz
Often reduced on midrange instruments like guitar, piano and vocals
Increase on 500-1000 Hz to get a horn-like quality
1000-2000 Hz can make the sound tinny
Increase 800 Hz for more presence and 1500 Hz for more attack on bass guitar
Increase around 1500 Hz for more attack on the lower pitches of a rhythm guitar