Login / Register

Does expensive gear make a significant difference ?
New Reply
Subscribe
Dverse
13th July 2013
Old 13th July 2013
Gear nut

Does expensive gear make a significant difference ?

Is spending 2000 $ dollar on a mic, booth isolation and preamps gonna sound significantly better then spending 200 $ on it ?

I would say yes, but some fo these noobs (I'm a noob too) claim or just say that they have clean sound and sound great with dirt cheap set ups.

I wanna rap, and sing hooks, I'm thinking of buidling a isolation booth and getting a nice mic and preamp and then sending the vocal tracks to producers to lay the beat down and engineers to mix and edit them.

Should I invest in a nice mic and preamp and soud isolation or does it not make a significant difference.

I want the product to be as good as possible. So it's more of a what is the money to spent on better question. Cause if I get gear for let's say 350 $ it leaves me with more money for better producers, promotion, videos and features.

I have a feeling more expansive gear is gonna make a pretty big difference.

Ok my sound music brothers, now your turn to drop some knowledge

Last edited by Dverse; 13th July 2013 at 09:26 PM.. Reason: typo
13th July 2013
Old 13th July 2013
Gear maniac

If you are serious about rapping and singing then I think a good set of tools mic , and mic pre will serve you well. Room treatment is equally important.
13th July 2013
Old 13th July 2013
Lives for gear

Send a message via Skype™ to Michael E
Why not to book some hours in a real studio and find out by yourself?
Dverse
13th July 2013
Old 13th July 2013
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael E View Post
I don't like to go to a studio, I like the comfort of my own home. I haven't recorded 1 song yet. But I wrote I think 45 songs.

And it's simpelr to just ask here on this huge forum
13th July 2013
Old 13th July 2013
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dverse View Post