Reverb send & return?
New Reply
Subscribe
OolalavSuperfukk
22nd February 2013
Old 22nd February 2013
Gear addict

Reverb send & return?

Perhaps this is a dumb question, but I'm still new to music production and learning every day. I love the reverb of my SP 404sx sampler on my vocals, but I don't want to record my vocals wet, cos it's much harder to EQ etc. and mix into the song. Is there any chance I could some how record the vocals dry and then put the reverb on after? I've heard people talk about "send and return" but i'm not entirely sure what they mean or if this is what they're talking about... I haven't been able to find any reverbs that I like on my voice as much as I do the reverb on the SP 404sx. So if this is even humanly possible, I'd love an explanation. Thanks

EDIT: Also, if what I'm asking is impossible, then does anyone have tips for mixing wet vocals?
22nd February 2013
Old 22nd February 2013
Gear interested

If your audio interface has more than 2 outputs, you can use them to send your dry vocal to your processor and get it returned to the input. Exact setup detail varies depending on your interface and DAW. Hope this helps.
OolalavSuperfukk
22nd February 2013
Old 22nd February 2013
Gear addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbee View Post
If your audio interface has more than 2 outputs, you can use them to send your dry vocal to your processor and get it returned to the input. Exact setup detail varies depending on your interface and DAW. Hope this helps.
ok thanks. but how would you set that up in a DAW so the vocal could get sent to the sampler and come back? I have several outputs so I should be able to do it. I just have no clue how it's done :S
22nd February 2013
Old 22nd February 2013
Lives for gear

Which DAW are you using? I'm fairly sure most DAWs these days include some kind of a "external effect/instrument" plugin (or other implementation) that easily lets you insert hardware devices in normal plugin chains...
OolalavSuperfukk