Any Pro Tools online resources and/or tips for migrating from Cubase to Pro Tools?
C_Z
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
Gear interested

Any Pro Tools online resources and/or tips for migrating from Cubase to Pro Tools?

Hello, slutz!

I am in the process of learning Pro Tools for a move into the sound/TV/film post production business. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations to good resources online to help speed up the Pro Tools learning process. Tips or opinions on how to migrate from Cubase to Pro Tools, personal experiences?

I have 12 years of experience in Cubase, which I know inside out, and very basic knowledge of Ableton Live and REAPER.

Do you think it's feasible to learn Pro Tools in 2 weeks, based on my previous experience?

Edit:
I know the concepts are more or less the same but what I find a little hard to adjust to, are the different terminologies (for example "Events/parts" in Cubase are called "Regions" in Pro Tools) and keyboard shortcuts. Little things like that makes a transition seem harder than it really is, I guess.
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
Gear maniac

I am doing the same thing now, I have been using Cubase since SX3. One of the first things I had to figure out is that in Cubase bounce is the same as combine in Pro Tools and Bounce in Pro Tolls is the same as it was in Tape day, which actually makes sense ;-)

I have found that simply immersing myself in it and doing a lot of searching the web when I get stuck is helping a lot.

punching in is a little different as well, instead of highlighting and selecting the punch in and out as you are used to, you highlight the actual track section, turn on the pre and post roll at the top, you can then adjust the little flags on top for pre and post roll. you can manually drag them or change the number value next to pre and post. The big difference is you arm the track and actually press record as opposed to just play like in Cubase.