New Reply
Subscribe
Jasonmalarkey
6th January 2013
Old 6th January 2013
Gear interested

Review and advice on recording?

Hi

Thank you in advance for any help. I'm new to recording and really looking to achieve studio quality. I have attached a WAV vocal and i'm not happy with how it sounds. My question is whether this can be processed to sound great of whether i'm not getting a good enough recording yet?

There's no processing, just recorded straight in to the DAW via a condensor mic with standard pre amp that came with the mic and then in to Motu Hybrid Ultralite.

I've played around with mic position and room and still not getting the close, warm sound i'm after so i'm wondering if I need to do anything to improve the recording? Better pre amp etc or whether I can get what i want from processing, eq etc?

Any help much appreciated.

J
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 Trial vocal.mp3 (650.0 KB, 71 views)
6th January 2013
Old 6th January 2013
Gear nut

Got a lot room ambience added in the recording. that will probably force you to match that room with the other instruments. If you can record the vocal more dry, it'll make life easier later, as you can add whatever will be needed during the mix stage.
6th January 2013
Old 6th January 2013
Lives for gear

Yes, way too much of room in there, almost sounds like bathroom recording - to get a more warm and intimate sound, you have to get rid of these reflections. Search the forum for room treatment, you will find a lot of hints and tricks to improve your recording space. Or try recording in another room that is less reflective. Condensers tend to pick up much more of the room than dynamic mics, maybe you should try out a nice dynamic if you can't change your room situation right now.

Also there's some serious clipping going on, you should record at a lower level, not only to avoid clipping but also to leave some headroom.
6th January 2013
Old 6th January 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by chk23 View Post