Seperate MIDI/AUDIO Rigs
New Reply
Subscribe
GenevieveBeamer
3rd January 2013
Old 3rd January 2013
Gear interested

Seperate MIDI/AUDIO Rigs

Hi everyone, I'm kinda new to the recording scene, I've been in plenty of studios and had a few "mini lessons" from the engineers out of my curiosity. I've finally decided to go the home recording route and have invested quite a bit of money in it. My confusion comes when recording MIDI and AUDIO are concerned.

Basically, if I've got a Mac Pro and a MIDI keyboard, but I'm also going to be recording acoustic guitar and drums, what do I need to get?

A mixer on its own will not deal with the MIDI am I correct? But if I get a MIDI Interface, it will only be able to record MIDI and maybe 2, 4 or 6 tracks of Audio... So do I need say, one MIDI interface going into a USB/FireWire slot and select that as primary recording source when doing the MIDI, and then buying a USB/FW mixer (or whatever) and then selecting that when I'm recording the drums/guitar?

Any help is much appreciated!!
4th January 2013
Old 4th January 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenevieveBeamer View Post
Hi everyone, I'm kinda new to the recording scene, I've been in plenty of studios and had a few "mini lessons" from the engineers out of my curiosity. I've finally decided to go the home recording route and have invested quite a bit of money in it. My confusion comes when recording MIDI and AUDIO are concerned.

Basically, if I've got a Mac Pro and a MIDI keyboard, but I'm also going to be recording acoustic guitar and drums, what do I need to get?