New Reply
Subscribe
SBSB
18th November 2012
Old 18th November 2012
Gear interested

Which Interface?

Hello everyone!

I'm just beginning to dabble in home recording, I'm up against my drummer's extremely large drumkit.

I'm trying to decide on an audio interface, but I need at least 12 mic channels in order to track the kit. I've been looking at the Presonus Audiobox 1818vsl. Obviously 8 channels isn't enough, but am I able to chain it to a second Audiobox through the sync out? I'm having a hard time finding a description of this feature that makes any sense to me.

OR, is there a more practical solution for a USB interface that can accommodate at least 12 channels?

Thanks!
19th November 2012
Old 19th November 2012
Gear addict

Well I think you gotta look at a couple things. What's your budget... Is this something you want to do long term and professionally? what kind of computer you're using and daw. Etc etc.
It would be easier to answer this question more specifically if you can give a better description of your goals for the future and your current set up.
SBSB
19th November 2012
Old 19th November 2012
Gear interested

Thanks for the reply!

I'd like to keep it under $1000, it's for a home setup but I'm looking for a professional sound. Hoping to record my band's next release on our own. We're a progressive metal band. I run Cubase, but we're hoping to work with several computers so we can work on certain things (vocals, guitars) on our own time. Majority of the work being done on a Macbook Pro.

I don't have a ton of gear right now, I've just been using an M-Audio USB mic (which can only take you so far). I've got a handful of Audio Technica condensers and dynamic mics ready to go for once I have the interface.

Thanks!
19th November 2012
Old 19th November 2012
Gear addict