gear set up
jarrett4real
23rd October 2012
Old 23rd October 2012
Gear interested

gear set up

Hey guys i just wanna start off by saying im a complete newbie when it comes to audio...but i am sitting on some pretty decent equipment. Heres a rundown of my current setup:
Apogee big ben master clock
apogee rosetta 800(96k version)
dangerous d box
digi design 003
api a2d
M audio octane
2 yamaha hsm 80s

my question is too whoever is out there; whats the smartest way to set all of this up and utilize each piece to max potential? Now i know im going to run the rosetta through adat in/out on the digi003. And the Api a2d through the spdif connection on the 003. where im confused is how am i going to bring my dbox into play?...mainly for monitoring purposes. The summing aspect of the dbox ill tackle later on down the road. And then theres the big ben...from what i understand i am able to clock up to six pieces with this thing. So my question to anyone with more knowledge...whats the best way to clock all of these devices to the big ben. I know im going to have to probably run those bnc cables all over the place. But again im just unclear on the exact configuration. if someone could help me out and expain how im going to set all of this up, and monitor it at the same time thatd be awesome. thanks
26th October 2012
Old 26th October 2012
Gear nut

All your digital gear need to get a clock (sync) from your Big Ben.

So.

Big Ben word clock
out 1 -> 003 (world clock in)
out 2 -> Apogee Rosetta (world clock in)
out 3 -> Api (world clock in) if you want to use this digital. You can use it as a analog pre as well. (then analog out 1,2 -> 003 line in 1,2)
out 4 -> M audio octane (word clock in)

Remember to set all digital units to slave. 003, you will find this in the digi software im sure (dont know the unit well)

And then the preamps.

M Audio Octane Analog out -> Agogee rosetta Analog in
Then Rosetta adat out - 003 adat in

- API spdif out -> 003 spdif in