Pro tools sounds thin and brittle. Need warmth!!!
XxFeendogxX
13th June 2012
Old 13th June 2012
Gear Head

Pro tools sounds thin and brittle. Need warmth!!!

Hello guys
I am posting this topic because I am having an issue with my mixes within pro tools. Here is a list of gear to help you understand.
2007 iMac
Digi 003 rack plus
Focusrite octo pre
Presonus studio channel
Behringer xnenx 2442 running into first 8 of 003
D112
3 sm57
Rode nt-1a
2 audix f15
At4050
Mxl 990
Audix d6
Pro tools 10

My mixes sound great when listening in a pro tools session through my KRK rockit 8s and through headphones. However when I bounce to disk and listen in the car the mixes sound dull and brittle. I record at 24 bit 44.1 and use dither when bouncing down. What could be causing this to happen? It's not one particular session it is all of them. I have been engineering for about 5 years and have never had this issue with logic or cubase. I have checked all the settings in pro tools and I know I am doing everything right. At least I'm 95% sure. Has anyone else run in to this issue? Please help

Best regards.
13th June 2012
Old 13th June 2012
Gear Head

Hi,
Have you tried your mix with other speakers before mixdown? I know the rockit's are rather boomy and are a bit too generous with the low frequencies.
This would explain the thin sound on other systems that have less bass response.

Envoyé depuis mon HTC Desire avec Tapatalk
13th June 2012
Old 13th June 2012
Gear interested

Hi, the answer to your question is: it depends, as posted in the previous post, it could be your monitors but personally i think i will be something else.