I need help setting up a mixing template on pro tools
Old 13th May 2012
Gear interested

I need help setting up a mixing template on pro tools

Hey guys I'm an engineer and I need help with mixing. Basically, what I need help with is organizing my plugins on pro tools 10. I have Waves Mercury Version 8 as well as T-Racks 3 Deluxe, some PSP plugins, and IsoTope 4. I have all these plugins and pretty much know what all of them do. But it seems like I am my worst critic and am having a hard time listening to good quality in my recordings. I know it's there I just don't hear it, everyone else that comes into my studio says it sounds great. So is there anyone out there that can help set me up with a mixing template for pro tools what should be the order of plugins in my inserts. I know that plugins vary from artist to artist and situation to situation but I really need help. I feel like I am wasting too much time trying to make it sound good. Trial and error is not working for me. I have been wanting to go into a professional studio and see how they run there sessions and the plugins they use but haven't been able to. So again if there is anybody out there that can help me I would highly appreciate it. Thanks again.
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

A lot of professional studios will use outboard gear... but what I'll say applies to plugins too. You could go in and look at their chain. They might be running a compressor into an EQ. There's a reason they've run the compressor in to the EQ, and not the EQ into the compressor. It's good you know what your plugins do, but keep practising and learn what effects they will have on other plugins that are on the chain, as well as what they do individually.

Example: Dave Pensado often talks about doing cuts in EQ, before compression and then boosts after compression. He cleans the audio up first. compresses. then basically uses the second EQ to pretty it up.