DIY Plate Reverb Driver?
New Reply
Subscribe
Mangineer
14th April 2012
Old 14th April 2012
Gear interested

DIY Plate Reverb Driver?

I'm a student at SAE Melbourne and have chosen to build a plate reverb unit for an assessment piece.

I plan to build a plate reverb inside a 19" rack shelf (keep in mind this is purely experimental) and I currently have everything I need except the Plate (which is being cut in both steel and aluminium for tests and should arrive in the next week or so) and the Driver.

Here is where my issue lies.

Originally I was under the impression that in order to apply the vibrations to the plate, a speaker had to be mounted in close proximity. This works with a larger plate (to some effect) but as my plate is far smaller and enclosed, a speaker producing very much audible sound is not a suitable option.

Finally I discovered the use of the driver itself.

I have pulled apart a 10" speaker, removed the cone and I am now left with the visible driver.
I'm not entirely sure how to attach the driver to the plate. I've seen examples that use extensions with a bolt on the end which seems like it'll be the best bet.

Does anyone have any suggestions of how to make an extension? Or even better are there any options of buying a driver that is generally used for plate reverb? (keeping in mind I am a student and would rather not spend over $100 on any individual material for the unit).

I'm also curious if there are any ideas to mount the driver as it's not a very big enclosure and I haven't built a plate reverb unit in the past.

Any help or advice on any part of the unit would be appreciated.
14th April 2012
Old 14th April 2012
Lives for gear

For something that small I would use the driver from a pair of headphones. It would also be light enough to mount easily. Get it close to the plate with some screws and use the screws to move it closer/farther from the plate. Great project, please give use some feedback on how it goes!

Jeff