repairing a Fostex MR-8HD?
Katannuta
10th September 2011
Old 10th September 2011
Gear interested

repairing a Fostex MR-8HD?

Hi all,

I am the ultimate newbie here, just started playing around with a Fostex MR-8HD digital multi tracker and I'm trying to find out about repairing it. I live in North Wales, UK.

The recorder hadn't been used for a while until recently I when it worked perfectly for a couple of long sessions. However, in the midst of a third session the display screen started to distort and break up into pixels, and after a while it went blank. I was able to carry on listening to tracks I had already recorded, but the screen has stayed blank. I tried switching it off and leaving it to cool down, but still blank.

So now I'm trying to find out, can it be repaired? who would do it? how much would it cost? And is it worth it, or do I have to chuck out an otherwise functional multitrack?

Many thanks in advance for all experienced words of wisdom -

Kat
10th September 2011
Old 10th September 2011
Lives for gear

Contact the UK distributor SCV....It sounds like a straight LCD replacement so they should be able to quote you a price with that info. Or tell you it can't be repaired!

SCV London
Katannuta
25th September 2011
Old 25th September 2011
Gear interested

Thank you!

Thanks very much, that's really helpful. I'll phone them in the morning.

Sorry for the long delay in replying - like a dork I posted just before heading off on holiday for two weeks... Thanks again.

Best wishes,

Katannuta
25th September 2011
Old 25th September 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.
I think its a defect I'm fixing one for a friend.

Sent from my PC36100 using Gearslutz.com App
Katannuta
26th September 2011
Old 26th September 2011
Gear interested

Oof!