New to the game and site
New Reply
Subscribe
WUBSM2K
21st July 2011
Old 21st July 2011
Gear interested

New to the game and site

Sorry for so many questions but I've been searching and at this for 3 days straight to try and learn which equipment I would need to record (rap vocals with strong voice).

I am very new to the equipment side..
1. Turning down the pre.. is that the recording volume knob that records the vocals?

2. What are pads and compresions?

3. What do you guys think about this set up and price range; sm7b>grace m101> compressor?

4. Can I get a better set up? I really prefer a 2 channel preamplifier.
21st July 2011
Old 21st July 2011
Lives for gear

1. Yes. The "pre" is the microphone preamplifier that boosts the small mic voltage level to a usable level for the rest of the gear. This is usually controlled by a knob/pot on the front of most mic pres/interfaces.

2. A pad is an attenuation device. Usually around 10 dB but varies depending on if it is built into a mic or pre. If it is a 10 dB pad, it drops the signal by 10 dB. Helps for really loud and/or transient sources.

2a. Compressor is a gain reduction unit. There is another discussion about this going on right now...(I think it's "compression is confusing") It basically reduces the overall dynamic range of the source. It is controlled by Ratios. If you have a 4:1 ratio, for every 4 dB that comes in, the comp only lets 1 dB out. So if you started with an overall dynamic range of 100 dB, it is now limited to 25 dB. Even though a comp reduces gain, many times it makes things seem louder because your "louds" and "softs" are closer together due to a smaller dynamic range.

3. It's fine. Depends on your budget really. SM7 seems to be the holy grail mic around here for vocals, especially rap. Grace is a nice, upper end pre. Classical folks like them too. Very clean...not much color. Your choice of compressor could definitely affect the sound too.