New Reply
Subscribe
subimage
13th July 2011
Old 13th July 2011
Gear interested

Mixing: EQ notch cheat-sheet?

Hello,

GS posting newbie here. I've done my best to scour the forums and haven't yet found what I'm looking for. Apologies if I missed something.

I'm interested in basic EQ notch and mixing guidelines.

I know this is an over-generalization, but, from what I can glean after searching teh intarnets/reading mags, it seems one could follow these guidelines:

1. Bassdrum narrow boost a few dB at 50-80Hz. Gentle shelf below 40Hz.
2. Bass synth/guitar narrow boost a few dB at 150Hz. Gentle cut below 100Hz.
3. Vocals gently cut at 80Hz.
4. Narrowly notch much of everything down a few dB ~320Hz (get rid of mud).
5. Only bass drum and bass guitar / synth below 40Hz.

Don't mean to come off as too much a simpleton. Just looking for a list of guidelines to use as a base for learning.

Any thoughts?

(BTW you guys are really great. Been lurking here for years and have learned so much from you. Thank you!)

Cheers,
Chris
13th July 2011
Old 13th July 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

What, a handy sheet that outlined some key points to try Eq's at

Like this you mean?

http://spl.info/fileadmin/user_uploa.../2890_BA_E.pdf

Last few pages

These guys make pretty sweet hardware and software (recently) it's not just some 'guys' opinions, these EQ bands were agreed on by quite a line up of people as detailed in the manual.
13th July 2011
Old 13th July 2011
Lives for gear

There is no EQ recipe that works universally, very few rules, and plenty of exceptions to those.

My best advice: buy the Golden Ears instructional package and constantly compare your mixes to professional mixes you like.

It's a journey, and there are no short cuts.

The good news is, you like to listen, right?

(new web site coming soon)
Quote:
Originally Posted by u b k View Post