Complete beginner with questions
New Reply
Subscribe
AKA-I-Addict
4th May 2013
Old 4th May 2013
Gear addict

Complete beginner with questions

How would one look into getting into the whole orchestrating/composing etc ? I'm talkng about someone from day 1 , scratch , nil experience etc

I understand its a loooooooooooong road so am not looking for a quick fix.

I have been given a copy of Walter Piston's harmony book and advised to read it before any composing or orchestration books.

I am looking to invest in some sort of vst/au package to use on the computer . Due to being a beginner I was thinking of getting Komplete 9 from Native Instruments.

Also learning the keyboard is on my list of things to do. I figure this will become a useful tool for helping to compose.

Another person advised me as a beginners exercise to find simple melodies and then harmonize them, and then with my 4 part harmony arrange it for something small like a string quartet.

Does anyone have any tips or advise they'd give to a beginner ?

I would be self taught for the most part (as in not going to university ) but in saying that I have found a teacher who gives composition lessons...not sure if these would be worthwhile or not ?
4th May 2013
Old 4th May 2013
Gear Head

The Piston is a good harmony book. So is the Schoenberg for self-teaching stuff.

There isn't just a tried and true path to learn how to compose, to be honest. There are techniques and required knowledge of instrumentation, yes, but nothing will do you more good than just listening, analyzing other's work, and simply rolling up your sleeves and writing some music.
4th May 2013
Old 4th May 2013

yup!! and ask questions!!
4th May 2013
Old 4th May 2013
Lives for gear

Search for midi files online of well known scores. There are pages dedicated to it. Tons of John Williams files out there.

Load them in your DAW (they load up in Logic and all the orchestral instruments are already setup)