Login / Register

How often are you notating or working on paper?
New Reply
Subscribe
spiderman
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Lives for gear

How often are you notating or working on paper?

I'm working on a score, and I'm primarily a ITB composer, but I always find the need to break things down into notation. Especially when I'm working on a large score or writing for orchestral settings, I just think better on paper.

Am I alone on this one? Any of you run the DAW with manuscript paper all over the place?
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Lives for gear

Paper - what's that?

Oh yeah -

SAVE THE TREES!
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Gear Head

Not as large of a scale as you but I always need a chord chart in front of me. Must be a holdover from my marching band days.
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Gear Guru

Sometimes, but pretty rare these days. I can stay more "organized" in my orchestration on paper, but it puts an additional step between me and finishing, so I usually forgo it.
spiderman
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Lives for gear

I don't mean writing EVERYTHING out long hand. More like taking notes, sketching chord progressions, writing out melodic themes, etc.

I've found that if I don't do that, my scores tend to be a bit disconnected from cue to cue. On projects where I take notes with notation, I get more mileage out of themes and better variations on those themes.

The piece I'm working on now is classic thriller/sci-fi and the main theme is based loosely on a tone row. With it written down and matrixed, I can just look at the page and find all my themes and chords without ever having to go back and listen to other cues or try to remember.

Just curious if others did the same.... guess the answer is some do and some dont.
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
Gear addict