Login / Register

I've been asked to score an indie film.....
New Reply
Subscribe
Fumblefingers
16th December 2012
Old 16th December 2012
Gear Head

I've been asked to score an indie film.....

......... and I have never done this work before.

The director is a friend and we have worked in the industry a long time in a different capacity in production . This is his directorial debut and he knows me well, what I can do as a musician etc and he feels my style would be good for this.

Okay great! Uh.........

My question to you expert folks has to do with format/surround etc. I have a Pro Tools studio and will be running PT10 with the Complete Production Toolkit. I know my way around Pro Tools well enough but have never worked in surround. I've asked to have a meeting with the editor when he is chosen so I can run my lack of experience by him and ask him how he wants stuff and what he is going to give me to work with. Hopefully we will work well together. Wherever I can I will ask to sit in on editing sessions etc so I can learn.....and I can get on set anytime to get a feel for the scenes.

But what should I plan on doing as far as what format I go with for the mix? The director wants the sound design and music to blend, weave in and out of each other etc.....non-traditional, no orchestral necessarily......it's going to be guitar heavy and sample library/soft synth/big low tuned percussion heavy as the film is very dark.....this is the best I can describe the initial concept. Sorry to be vague.

But should I go to a surround setup and purchase rear and center monitors? I have read here that no sub channel should be used for music. Okay so maybe I don't need that....although what about sound design? I'll be doing that also.

Or is it done where I give stems of the mix to the editor and he does all the surround mixing to his own liking?