New Reply
Subscribe
Christiaan
8th May 2012
Old 8th May 2012
Gear interested

Creating music for Computer Game - Confusion

Hello

I'm not sure if this is a stupid question but here goes.
I'm doing some music for a Computer Game but there are a few of the technical things I want to make sure of, before there is trouble.
All the music is in MIDI. With just a wide variety of Samplers and Virtual Instruments. But what I actually want to know is, how do I present this music to the Gaming Company and how does it get put into the game.

I'm not sure what file formats will be used and what exactly will be expected of me. I'm a musician and it's the first time a gaming company has asked me to do some music for a game of them.
Please any help will be greatly appreciated. I'm just scared there are some things that I am not aware of and is gonna come back and bite me in the ass.

Thank you
8th May 2012
Old 8th May 2012
mymixisbetterthanyours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christiaan View Post
Hello

I'm not sure if this is a stupid question but here goes.
I'm doing some music for a Computer Game but there are a few of the technical things I want to make sure of, before there is trouble.
All the music is in MIDI. With just a wide variety of Samplers and Virtual Instruments. But what I actually want to know is, how do I present this music to the Gaming Company and how does it get put into the game.

I'm not sure what file formats will be used and what exactly will be expected of me. I'm a musician and it's the first time a gaming company has asked me to do some music for a game of them.
Please any help will be greatly appreciated. I'm just scared there are some things that I am not aware of and is gonna come back and bite me in the ass.

Thank you
Woha, you should ask them of course!
This is a huge minefield.
Look into the interactive music systems in Wwise, FMOD, and UDK.
8th May 2012
Old 8th May 2012
Gear addict