Logic vs. Digital Performer
Old 4th October 2006
Lives for gear

Logic vs. Digital Performer

I don't want to turn this into an argument. I have been using logic for a couple of years and am getting tired of the bugs and lack of pro tools type audio editing and tracking. I used dp for a couple of years and could probably relearn it very quickly. I am wondering what peoples experiences are with DP vs. logic.

Seems like logic would be better for audio work, but may not be nearly as good as logic for midi and virtual instruments. My sessions currently rely on exs24 and virtual instruments including atmospher, rmx, and bfd. I would like to continue using my audio unit plug-ins. The real considerations for me are slow down in workflow for songwriting type stuff and I am not sure how to deal with my old logic sessions. i don't think i could convert them to DP.

I am also a little worried about motus problematic drivers and lack of support, but then again apple doesn't have any tech support at all.

I think I would not make this move until i saw what the next version of logic brought to the table though.

Any sage advice will be greatly appreciated. I can also say that I am really sick of switching audio apps. I think my path has been vision to studio vision to digital performer to pro tools to logic and now...
Old 4th October 2006
Lives for gear

I never had any issues with any MOTU driver, not for the 828 I had nor the Fastlane USB interface, both worked flawlessly... Maybe you just had bad luck...

Why are you so keen on replaying your old projects? I'd say render most of it as audio to archive them, or for a remix in another application... or keep the software + OS you're using now as a backup too (and store the computer when you buy a new one )