New Reply
Subscribe
tonytee335
28th January 2013
Old 28th January 2013
Gear interested

rendered audio from midi out of sync in cubase and reaper

Hi

This is my first time in posting a message and the reason why I am doing so is because I have a serious issue with my digital studio that is causing me a lot of stress and has kind of brought my ability to record midi based music to a standstill. I'm hoping someone can help me.

I use Cubase 5, and I'm currently working on a track that is mainly all software synths, and I am now in the final stages of rendering the midi to audio. I was listening back to the project recently, and found that one of the tracks was glaringly out of time. When I zoomed in on the project, I was horrified to find that all of the waveforms that had been rendered from midi were all out of time, the first beat after the midi note, then the beats afterwards either in front of or after the midi note, drifting out of time inconsistently as the track moves forward.

I'm pretty sure this is not due to general latency problems, because the midi track is in time upon playback, but when I render it to audio using all the
methods available, real time export/normal export using export audio mixdown, sending the midi to a group track, recording from that, and recording directly from the stereo outs, the same thing happens, whether it be mono/stereo, 44,48khz, 16,24,32 bit.

Over the last few weeks, I have spent my time tearing my hair out trying to find what the problem is only to be completely stumped. I have looked through pages and pages of forums trying to find the answer, and tried just about everything suggested within Cubase; increasing/decreasing buffer size, checking and unchecking system timestamp options, constrain delay compensation, moving the Cubase application folder, none of which have solved the problem.