Pro Tools work with Raid setups?
mattoxxx
6th August 2006
Old 6th August 2006
Gear maniac

Pro Tools work with Raid setups?

I just bought a OWC Mercury Elite Pro 320x2 mirror raid drive and the digi website said not to turn on the raid feature when using pro tools is this true or will this drive work with pro tools any one have any experience?

thanks

Matt
6th August 2006
Old 6th August 2006
Lives for gear

Post RAID Concepts

I have no experience using a RAID with Pro Tools. Yet I think this is a good moment to briefly discuss how RAID works and why it probably is not going to work effectively for audio.

RAID, redundant array of independent disks, is a way where you can take many individual disks and have them work together as a single disk. This can be setup with parity so that if one drive fails, you swap it out and then the other disks use their parity data to rebuild the data that should be on the new disk. It can also be setup without parity, in which case a single disk failing means your data is gone.

RAID is useful for large bandwidth applications, such as uncompressed video capture and playback, where the bandwidth requirements are sufficently high such that a single drive on an interface cannot handle the load, but the interface itself can. As an example, uncompressed standard definition video is 270Mb/s. A single SCSI drive on an Ultra3 SCSI card cannot handle that throughput, but the SCSI card can. Hence, when you stripe four disks together as one on an Ultra3 SCSI card, your large drive can now handle the bandwidth requirements.