New Reply
Subscribe
DarkMarco
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
Gear interested

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 Firewire Compatability

Hello People

I have been using an Mbox Pro 2 for a few years and decided to upgrade this Christmas to a "Focusrite Saffire Pro 40". Its an awesome interface and so far I love it... With the exception of the crackling I get when working on advanced tracks and the skipping every now and then even when I'm not doing anything. I have done a bunch of research into optimizing my computer and firewire card compatibility. I eventually found this bit of software:

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/...ments/OHCI.zip

But instead of saying "Compatible, no known issues" or anything else that is obvious it says "This controller has not been qualified yet".

So what do you think guys?
Do I need a new firewire card? Or is it my brain that is making the clicking sounds. Ether way here is my firewire card info:

Vendor : (104C) Texas Instruments
Chipset: (8020) TSB12LV26
Revision: 00
Max 1394 Speed Capability: S400
Support: This controller has not been qualified yet.

P.S. my card is really old, i lifted it from a computer they were throwing away at work a few years ago.

Cheers
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
Lives for gear

Since you found the OHCI tool, I'm guessing you may have already seen this, but there's a FireWire compatibility article in the Focusrite support knowledge base at:

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/...le.php?id=1057

The PDF document linked from that article may be useful, although I don't know how up to date it is.

The TSB12 prefix TI chipset isn't one that is listed as being one of their recommended controllers. However, TI chipsets are usually a fairly safe bet in general (except for one card that the document does list as having caused problems and which is based on a TI controller).
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
Lives for gear