Subscribe
JoMas
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Gear interested

Slate VCC with sparse arrangements

Happy holidays folks.
I have a question about Slate VCC.
I'd like to buy it - from what I've heard and listened it seems to be a pretty good investment. However, I mostly record and mix acoustic, very sparse arrangements (by the way, I'm not a professional). My typical project would be something like: 1 or 2 acoustic guitars, sometimes 1 or 2 other acoustic instruments (mandolin, ukulele, banjo), sometimes bass, lead vocal and vocal harmonies, very little drumming and percussion (sometimes nothing at all, sometimes some very "soft" drums played with brushes or percussions).
So, while I can hear very clearly the advantage of VCC on complex projects, with many tracks and thick arrangements, I was wondering ... how about my sparse, acoustic projects? Would VCC provide a similar "amount" of benefit, or it would be minor, instead? What's your thoughts? (PS I know I could demo it but I dont have iLok yet, so it's quite frustrating to have to buy iLok just to demo a product ...).
Thanks a lot, and sorry for my not-so-good english.
J.
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Gear nut

Hi jomas
Happy Hollidays to you too.
Personally, I thinks it works well on that kind of project.
I often use the trident on acoustic guitars, it gives a very foward mid tone that I like. It gives an overall sense of space. I don' t think all console emu will fit your style but some will absolutely be beneficial.
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Lives for gear

The iLok is a pain in the %$# indeed as my first reaction would be:
Try it!

But, to focus more on your question. For me VCC has worked equally well on bigger and smaller projects. It gives a nice coherence and sound, regardless of the number of tracks.

If you get the possibility to try it out before you buy I'd suggest you really give it a good testing.