Login / Register

Cubase users: Why did you make the switch?
New Reply
Subscribe
Yttims
4th December 2012
Old 4th December 2012
Gear interested

Cubase users: Why did you make the switch?

Hey guys, first post here...

I'm a composer about to graduate college, and I started out using DP and later switched to Logic Pro due to how efficient it is. But after a year of using Logic Pro and sometimes going back to DP, there are more than a few things that piss me off about both DAWs. Add to that my growing fascination with PC's (I recently built one to use as a secondary computer--trying to get rid of the term "slave"--running Vienna Ensemble Pro, and my results have been brilliant) and I'm really starting to drool over Cubase.

Now, I've only been in the serious sequencing game for a couple years now. I'd love to hear from more of the seasoned cats around here who have made the switch between DAWs multiple times and really have solid experience with many different ones on different platforms, especially regarding the pros and cons of Cubase. Specifically, what, for you, sets it apart from the other sequencers out there?

Thanks guys.
4th December 2012
Old 4th December 2012
Gear addict

Started with Logic, switched to Cubase, switched again to my current DAW- Studio One. I liked Logic, but workflow was a lot faster with Cubase. Switched to Studio One because workflow is a lot faster than Cubase.
5th December 2012
Old 5th December 2012
Lives for gear

Started with Cubase on Atari ST (ask your dad, LOL...), then Cubase on Mac (never quite liked it), Digital Performer, Logic and then, when I switched to Windows, Sonar (first to be 64-bit, a good three years before any Mac DAW caught up) and then finally coming back full-circle to Cubase (which meanwhile had become the best DAW for composers, IMHO.) It's no coincidence that Hans Zimmer is a Cubase fanatic. Once you experience the power of Note Expression (especially useful for composers), you never go back...