Computer music for beginners
Old 14th October 2012
Gear maniac

Computer music for beginners

So many technical threads on here and I was bored so I thought I'd start a thread for complete beginners.

So, what do you need to get started? Well, just a (modern) computer or laptop. Plus a DAW of course. A Digital Audio Workstation. This is the software program you use to make the music with. There are a few you can try as demos. The problem is they take time to learn, so it's not easy for a complete beginner to compare them.

Don't worry about which is best in terms of sound quality. All the main DAWs are capable of producing professional quality music.

You can often get a free 'lite' version of a DAW bundled with a midi keyboard, even an inexpensive one costing around £50. Later you can upgrade to the full version. The money you save on the upgrade, compared to just buying the full version, can be more than what you paid for the keyboard! This way you get a keyboard for nothing. A midi keyboard is called a controller, or control surface. As well as playing notes, it will be useful because it's 8 knobs can control all sorts of stuff in your DAW.

This then is your best way to get started. You can use your lite version as long as you want while you save up for the upgrade.

Another way to start is to get Reaper and some free VSTs (software synths). However you won't have a multisampler. A multisampler is necessary for playing sampled sounds over a wide range, eg a piano. Not all DAWs include one. In fact, not all DAWs include synths in their standard package, so make sure you compare like with like, especially if price is a major factor.

I'll do a summary of Ableton Live and hopefully other Slutz can post similar summaries of their DAWs, and also post resources for beginners.

Glossary:

DAW: Digital Audio Workstation, software for making a complete song