New Reply
Subscribe
Coopduhville
29th July 2012
Old 29th July 2012
Gear interested

Building a workstation - parts list!

Budget: $1000

What I want: A workstation to record live instruments into as well as send out monitor mixes

What I need: All parts of the computer (exclude monitors). I'll also need an interface of some sort (or a converter?)

Hardware I have: A 20 channel Mackie board - I think I would use this board to sum up channels to send to the interface to reduce the number of channels needed on the interface.

So, any help I could get in starting a parts list would be GREATLY appreciated. The thing that I am completely unsure of is.. do I need a sound card if I have an audio interface? I really have no clue. I am a live sound engineer so recording is a bit new for me.

Purpose: I really just plan on recording polished-ish demos at home. I will then take those to a buddy's studio to map out on his huge studio console and retrack things if need be with his nice mics and such.
29th July 2012
Old 29th July 2012
Gear maniac

Have you built computers before? I only ask because it's not for everyone and in some cases, for some, it may be easier to just buy a prebuilt DAW-ready beast of a PC.

I've been building computers for over 15 years and I must say the new Ivy's from Intel are simply AMAZING.

Is $1000 a strict limit? Or is there some wiggle room? Hard drive prices, memory upgrades, etc - things add up quick.
Coopduhville
29th July 2012
Old 29th July 2012
Gear interested