Sturdy MIDI Card for PC
Old 16th June 2006
Gear interested

Sturdy MIDI Card for PC

Howdy all....

This is my rig:
Asus 800mhz P3 Win2K 512 ram

I process audio thru a MOTU 828 mkI

I process MIDI thru a (please don't laugh) SB Live! Platinum (the one with the front-mount interface, optical I/O etc.)

This is my software:
Acid Pro 5, Orion, CEP, Sound Forge, CD Arch 5.2.

The main thing I'm trying to accomplish is driving soft-synths (Sample Tank, NI B4, FM7, Plugsound, etc.) in Acid/Orion. I'm primarily a hobbyist, but I've done some simple jobs and I'd like to streamline a bit to sell some of my work.

This is my problem:
MIDI latency is so bad that I can barely do any work after putting more than two or three synths into a project. My first inclination is to say "get a new MIDI card". My next inclination is to say "get more RAM".

But I've wondered if I just need a new box altogether. I'm sure that would help, but I'm a penny-pincher of the first order,

That all said, what would your recommendations be for a MIDI card? Should I go PCI, Firewire, USB? Does it matter?

I've been eyeing the entry-level M-Audio (Delta 1010, Audiophile 2496) and EMU cards (0404) since they are fairly inexpensive. Word is the EMU doesn't work too well with Acid 5. I have read good things about the compatablility between the M-Audio stuff and Acid.

Now, the main thing I need is a solid MIDI card. I'm not as concerned with processing audio (that's what I'm using the MOTU for). But I'm very open to suggestions here. I don't know how well my system will appreciate having two audio interfaces to interact with.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Pat
Old 16th June 2006
Lives for gear

RME Hammerfall HDSP9652 (with Midi) if you get analog expansion cards not only is it rock solid for MIDI but it will shit all over your 828 mk1 as far as conversion.
Old 16th June 2006
Gear interested

Cool. Any thoughts on a MOTU Midi Timepiece? I may have a lead on a great deal on one.