Logic Pro 9 vs Studio One v2 - sound engine differences?
Old 12th May 2012
Gear Head

Logic Pro 9 vs Studio One v2 - sound engine differences?

Hello gearslutz,

I am a Logic Pro user for long time, together with some friends among me. I heard from them and also read a lot here on GS, that the soundengine from Logic Pro sounds dull, muffled, like a blanket is covering the audio.
Now everyone here on GS is talking about the soundegine of Studio One is far ahead the competition, like Logic Pro.
Although both applications consist out of '0's and '1', the ear of the users tell something different.

As anyone the same experience, Studio One soundwise is the big winner here (without any processing of plugins etc), or is this just not true?
Since Studio One is build from scratch and used the latest technologies, maybe this can be the case, since Logic is still using the old Emagic code...

Anyone did a real, true comparison on this subject?
Examples (audio comparisons) are welcome ;-)
Old 12th May 2012
Lives for gear

Coming from cubase 4 to S1 Pro v2 I did notice the mix down-rendering sounds like the whole project being played back. In cubase 4 the exporting seemed to alter the sound a bit.
Old 12th May 2012
Geariophile

Subscribed to ogle the ensuing mayhem.......now just to go get some popcorn
Old 12th May 2012
Gear addict

that stuff is not important, just learn how to mix well
Old 12th May 2012
Lives for gear

The only sonic differences i've found between Logic Pro, Pro Tools, and Studio One (both good and bad), are ones that I created through mixing decisions that I made.

If any Logic system sounds to you like there's a blanket over the mix, I'd look to place the blame elsewhere in the chain. The Logic audio engine is certainly not inferior in any way to Studio One.
Old 12th May 2012
Gear maniac