2k to spend - MacBook Pro i7 or alternative?
BirdNerd
29th March 2012
Old 29th March 2012
Gear interested

2k to spend - MacBook Pro i7 or alternative?

Dear Gearslutz community,

I am currently looking to upgrade my current outdated Samsung laptop to the best possible laptop available for audio recording / mixing having just re-launched myself into the home recording world.

Typically I record into my Zoom R16 then mixdown with Cubase LE5 but I have serious performance issues whenever I have too many tracks or add VSTs to a few tracks (Asio or something?). I also intend connect a midi keyboard and add layers using something like East/West Symphonic Quantum Leap Strings when I get around to buying it.

Being a novice my first port of call was to obviously look at the new MacBook Pro 2.2gh / 4GB / quad-core / Intel i7 as one assumes Mac's are designed for audio recording but then I start hearing good things about PCAudiolabs Rok Box etc. I'm based in the UK.

Any recommendations would be gratefully received. Thank You
29th March 2012
Old 29th March 2012
Sample Junkie

Hiya!
Welcome to GS. I also use a macbook pro (mid 2010 version) with Logic 9 and currently using the built in instruments and it's great. A new i7 model would be a great choice.

One thing I've read about hollywood strings over at VI Control is that it tends to take a serious machine to run it, so much that some composers there use a separate slave machine, so do keep that in mind. I'm personally going for either LASS or Cinematic Strings 2.0 when I get better as they seem to be less resource intensive.

HTHs!
BirdNerd
29th March 2012
Old 29th March 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeafInTheWind View Post
Hiya!
Welcome to GS. I also use a macbook pro (mid 2010 version) with Logic 9 and currently using the built in instruments and it's great. A new i7 model would be a great choice.