Login / Register

Anyone using a Hackintosh for Pro Tools?
New Reply
Subscribe
darbyclash34
20th December 2011
Old 20th December 2011
Gear nut

Anyone using a Hackintosh for Pro Tools?

So, I know I'm probably going to hear it for even asking, but is anyone out there using a hackintosh for Pro Tools? I'm running into the limits of what my 09 MacBook Pro can do in Pro Tools 10, and I have an ATX rackmount computer with a 1000w power supply, 10000 RPM drives, all I would need is a board, processor, and graphics card.

It helps that I'm an Apple authorized tech, so I have no problem dealing with problems as the crop up, but I'm just wondering if we're talking way more problems than its worth.

Any experience?

Thanks!

Shawn
20th December 2011
Old 20th December 2011
Gear Head

Hi Shawn!

I have been running Pro Tools 9 in Hackintosh for almost a year and it's been really stable.
I can't really say that I've had any problems with it.
Graphics card is the most problematic one in Hackintosh builds but that doesn't affect PT much obviously.
10.6.8 was the best OS for Hacks this far IMO.

Did you already plan out GPU, CPU etc. you're gonna get if you decide to give Hackintosh a shot?

Arttu
darbyclash34
21st December 2011
Old 21st December 2011
Gear nut

So I had looked at a Gigabyte MB based on the Z68 chipset found in the current iMac, a Core i7 3.4 GHZ 2600 as found in the current iMac, and an Nvidia GTX 460 based graphics card. I've seen a lot of setups using those that are said to be stable.

But, I started thinking about Thunderbolt. That cannot be added with a PCIe card, so if the board doesn't have it, which I don't think any boards have currently, I could never add it. Leads me back to the idea of an iMac.

Shawn
21st December 2011
Old 21st December 2011
Gear interested

but do you absolutely need thunderbolt? even the current model mac pro doesn't have it