Installing newly-purchased Logic Pro 9 on new Mac running OSX Lion
New Reply
Subscribe
deantonic
29th August 2011
Old 29th August 2011
Gear interested

Installing newly-purchased Logic Pro 9 on new Mac running OSX Lion

First: I'm new to Apple and Macs. I recently bought a new 2011 Mac Mini with OSX Lion that I intend to use primarily as a DAW. I will be soon be buying and installing Logic Pro 9. Apple says that OSX Lion requires at least Logic 9.1.4. I am trying to determine whether I should just buy Logic from the Apple Store shelf, where I assume I can see the exact version listed on the box and can verify that this is at least 9.1.4, or whether I can save a few bucks by buying from Amazon. Buying from Amazon of course means not being able to examine the box specs in advance.

Now I pause and ask: am I being overly concerned about this? Will an earlier version of Logic 9 that may be stocked at Amazon just install fine over Lion, then update to the latest version via the Web? I may be unnecessarily wearing my PC hat into this new Mac world.

Bottom Line: Has anyone made a fresh install of Logic 9 on a new computer system with OSX Lion?
29th August 2011
Old 29th August 2011
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to jbrown1music
If amazon has it cheaper then get that. Once u install the software update the software and your golden.
29th August 2011
Old 29th August 2011
Lives for gear

As far as I know Logic isn't even available on the app store, and jbrown1msic stated with a retail box you simply let software update find the updates you need...install them from software update or (what I prefer to do is) search Apple's downloads and install them from the .dmg files so you have them for later. Software update will list the updates you need in more or less the order required, as sometimes you will need to apply a previous one before the latest (especially with Mainstage & OS core stuff like Pro Kit though I doubt Lion has had any Pro Kit or etc updates yet).
deantonic