Dell XPS 8300 ... PCI-e Firewire Card?
New Reply
Subscribe
weezul
11th June 2011
Old 11th June 2011
Gear addict

Dell XPS 8300 ... PCI-e Firewire Card?

Hey guys, I'm a sole trader and so money is tight. My current computer (Dell XPS 410) is completely buckling under my mixes. It's a dual core 2.16 core2duo, 3gb ram. Most of the time, Pro Tools just crashes upon opening. I have to open the session and then enable plugins one by one and keep my fingers crossed. And tracking anything on top is a laborious process of boucning the mix and doing it in another session and then importing session data.

However, dell have a interest free deal on at the moment so I think this is realistically my only chance to get a new computer.
Now, I know Dells are not exactly perfect, but my last one has lasted about 6 years through pro tools 7-9 with an MBox Mini (flawless) and M-Audio Profire 2626 (a nightmare most of the time).

If I get hold of a decent PCI-e card w/ TI chipset for the firewire, could this system work?
It will be based on intel P67 board, and i7 processor, 8gb ram and an ATI graphics card. I've just been doing as much research as possible into DPC, and saw some issues people were having with nVidia cards so steered clear for now. Another downside is only 2 hard drive slots as far as I can tell.

Currently I have a system drive with a dual boot for messing on and a pro tools boot (also holds my soft synths) and then the other two are a RAID config, two 500gbs in Raid1 which holds all of my production work and pro tools sessions. I've never had an issue with this (hardware raid level) in pro tools, all my errors have always been due to the ProFire I think (Countless cache errors, too small, too large, -6006 every time you hit space).
Basically my clients have witnessed me break keyboards in half when pro tools keeps throwing errors up at me. Surely upgrading to this system could not make things worse?