New Reply
Subscribe
Crazyd943
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Gear interested

Windows alternative to Logic Pro 9

Hey guys,

I'm looking to do some recording and arranging at home, on my laptop. I've been used to using Logic Pro 9 at college, and love it.

Basically, I'd like to know which DAW you guys would say was closest to Logic for Windows in terms of features, layout, ease of use etc.

I'm running a Toshiba Satellite, Intel core i3 @ 2.53ghz, 2BG RAM, Realtek hi-def audio.

Cheers.
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Gear addict

PreSonus Studio One. Its very similar in many ways (imo).
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Gear Head

I would have to say Cakewalk Sonar. I have been using it for the last 10 years and you can record vocals/guitars/ect in sonar as well as incorporate your vst's inside of it. It also comes with a great variety of instruments out the box as well as plugins
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Lives for gear

I'd also say Studio One Pro might be the closest I've seen. Though I prefer Logic to Studio One by a mile. But if you're stuck on PC not much you can do. Check out Studio One. They let you demo it so no loss if you don't like it.

Posted via the Gearslutz iPhone app.
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Lives for gear

Studio One or Reaper, but both are more limited in their current forms than Logic (because they're both much much more recent in terms of codebase but evolving quickly.)
Crazyd943
18th May 2011
Old 18th May 2011
Gear interested

Cheers guys!

I'll give Studio 1 a go then.
19th May 2011
Old 19th May 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

Studio One is not even in the same category as Sonar and Cubase. Pick among these two, both have pros and cons.
19th May 2011
Old 19th May 2011
Gear Head

Nuendo 4 rocks.. far more logical than logic.. quick work flow..I won't go back to apple...
19th May 2011
Old 19th May 2011
Lives for gear

For PC:

- Cubase
- Sonar
- Nuendo.

I would say Cubase or Sonar.

Roger
19th May 2011