the "today we build our studio pc"-thread
#1261
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1261
Gear nut
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 108

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergreen View Post
Nice build. What are the specs on your PS? Is it adequate?
the case came stock with dual linked power supplies equaling 1200 watts. overkill, yes.

thanks for the responses everybody. been a long time since I helped with my last build, so much has changed I'm actually a bit nervous to jump in to this build. my local "help" isn't local anymore, just the internet for me
#1262
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1262
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 252

#1263
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1263
Gear nut
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 108

#1264
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1264
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 252

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick5150 View Post
I actually have one of these in my newegg shopping cart - the guts I pull out of my antec case are going in there
Only thing I needed was 3.5" tray adapter for a front of case 3.5" USB 3.0 external ports. The case doesn't have any 3.5->5.25 adapters. My MB (Gigabyte Z77-UP7 had a ton of USB ports) and I used the 4 on top of the case and wanted to use the 3.5" breakout USB box that came with the MB.

I ordered this

StarTechcom 35in Hard Drive to 525in Front Bay Bracket Adapter by Office Depot
#1265
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1265
Gear nut
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 108

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmontano View Post
Only thing I needed was 3.5" tray adapter for a front of case 3.5" USB 3.0 external ports. The case doesn't have any 3.5->5.25 adapters. My MB (Gigabyte Z77-UP7 had a ton of USB ports) and I used the 4 on top of the case and wanted to use the 3.5" breakout USB box that came with the MB.

I ordered this

StarTechcom 35in Hard Drive to 525in Front Bay Bracket Adapter by Office Depot
I doubt I'd need more than the 4 up front for this computer but thanks for the heads up
#1266
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
  #1266
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 168

Hi guys!

Did lots of research last weeks and bought stuff too for building my new system. A few things which were important to me.

- I wanted to use my emu 1820m so PCI NATIVE support was important for the motherboard. The B75 chipset had this and also supported the new Ivy Bridge CPU.

- I had a Antec Sonata II case with 550W Coolermaster Power supply which I had for an older system which I wanted to use

- I had a Nvidia 7300GT Videocard which I wanted to use (I know this is old but I have two VGA 1400x1050 monitors which I wanted to use...

So I bought:

CPU Intel i7 3770k

MOTHERBOARD Asrock b75 pro3-m (with native pci support for my emu1820m)

RAM: Kingston HyperX Blue 16GB (1600MHz, 2x 8GB) DDR3-RAM Kit (because I wanted 16GB RAM and this one was supported by the motherboard as found on the ASROCK site

COOLER: Gelid Solutions Tranquillo Rev.2 (This is a cheap cooler with excellent cooling function, I looked for several reviews and found this one getting good reviews. Some people (newegg) however complain about hard to install, I found it a piece of cake...)

DISK Samsung 840 256GB PRO (because its awesome )

software I am going to use:
Cubase 6/7 64b
Native Instruments Komplete 7
Some Slate Digital stuff

Some things I found out after installing:

Everything worked out pretty awesome. All the software was fast and easy. Soundcard works good, actually only one thing which drove me almost nuts:

I have 2 Acer AL2017 monitors which work on 1400x1050 and with the newest NVIDIA driver on windows 7 it just didn't want to work... (this videocard worked perfect with the monitors on XP32)
I tried everything: installed powerstrip, tried making custom drivers for the monitors, looked if EDID Was a problem, tried using both the hd4000 GPU and the NVIDIA card but nothing worked.
I made it work in the end with an antique vista64 driver (100.54_winvista_64bit_international)

Happy everything works now
#1267
18th December 2012
Old 18th December 2012
  #1267
Gear Head
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 71

I'm going to gut my current machine and replace the mobo, processor, and memory and I'm wondering if my Samsung combo optical drive will work. The current setup is running 32 bit XP but I plan to upgrade to Win7 64. I looked online to see if there were any driver or utility updates but couldn't find any. Should I just upgrade to a newer one?

Actually, I just answered my own question. The existing one is IDE.
Quote
1
#1268
23rd December 2012
Old 23rd December 2012
  #1268
Lives for gear
 
projektk's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,353

I ended up replacing to 2 4GB RAM modules with the 2 8GB modules I was saving for a new build. I also wiped my OS X Snow Leopard install and started fresh back on windows, 7 to be exact.

I have to say aside from losing Logic, I am very happy about my decision to switch. Cant wait to see Haswell, I would like to wait for DDR4 ram and 16GB ram modules before I upgrade to a new system. I will keep my Antec P280 until that time comes, which is the case I have for a new build right now. Using a Cooler Master on my current build.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317
#1269
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #1269
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 10

Hi all,
I've been digesting this thread for a little over 2 months now... I'm at the point of making some concrete decisions on hardware for a new studio PC and acting on them. I've given myself about 1-2 months to finish building up this new rig. It seemed a lot easier to be on top of PC/mobo things in the past when I built all my previous rigs. Now I admit I'm seriously behind on the whole 2011 vs 1155, SB vs IB, now SB-E is in the picture, mobo chipset, etc.etc.

Obviously cost is a factor but I don't want to hit a performance barrier for the next little while. The box will be running Cubase (anything from SX3 onwards) and is intended to run Win 7 64bit. There will be plenty of VSTi'ing and loaded samples as well as plenty of analog audio to crunch.

I won't bother you all with blanket "what should I get" questions, but I need a little push in the right direction with the CPU choice... it's down to 3770 (IB) versus 3820 (SB-E). If it was a matter of cost, it would make things simpler but they're currently about the same price.

So what would be the recommended way forward? I need a minimum-2-monitor setup so I'll be needing an external vid card, therefore I don't think I'm going to need onboard video. With cost an important factor, is there a recommended choice for me between these two CPUs? Will this affect MOBO choice as well, once I move on to that choice?

Any little helping hand / gentle push will be greatly appreciated.
#1270
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #1270
Gear interested
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4

Hello,

this is my final build:

CoolerMaster Silencio 650
Intel Core i7-3770K CPU
Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev.A (BW)
Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
16GB-Kit 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance PC3-14900U CL9-10-9-27

1x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - system
2x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - sample
3 x HDD WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB (Project)
4x CnMemory Airy 3TB USB 3.0 8,9cm (3,5") (Backup)

RME HDSPe AIO PCIe
UAD 2 PCIe
Win 7 HP 64
Cubase 5.5 - 32/64
Komplete 4 / 7 - 32/64
#1271
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #1271
Gear Head
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleTransAm View Post
Hi all,
I've been digesting this thread for a little over 2 months now... I'm at the point of making some concrete decisions on hardware for a new studio PC and acting on them. I've given myself about 1-2 months to finish building up this new rig. It seemed a lot easier to be on top of PC/mobo things in the past when I built all my previous rigs. Now I admit I'm seriously behind on the whole 2011 vs 1155, SB vs IB, now SB-E is in the picture, mobo chipset, etc.etc.

Obviously cost is a factor but I don't want to hit a performance barrier for the next little while. The box will be running Cubase (anything from SX3 onwards) and is intended to run Win 7 64bit. There will be plenty of VSTi'ing and loaded samples as well as plenty of analog audio to crunch.

I won't bother you all with blanket "what should I get" questions, but I need a little push in the right direction with the CPU choice... it's down to 3770 (IB) versus 3820 (SB-E). If it was a matter of cost, it would make things simpler but they're currently about the same price.

So what would be the recommended way forward? I need a minimum-2-monitor setup so I'll be needing an external vid card, therefore I don't think I'm going to need onboard video. With cost an important factor, is there a recommended choice for me between these two CPUs? Will this affect MOBO choice as well, once I move on to that choice?

Any little helping hand / gentle push will be greatly appreciated.
regarding the monitors i believe you can use duals no problem with the 3770
when using a mobo that has multiple video outputs. ie hdmi and dvi.

my current mobo/cpu/ram setup is gigabyte Z77 UD5H/ i3-3225/gskill ripjaws x 32gb(because i got a killer deal) and i plan on upgrading to the i7-3770k and using the i3 for a family build. so far its a stable setup, running W7 ultimate, but i havent pushed it at all. just testing with some guitars and loading up tracks with plugins.
and for what its worth, the VIA firewire chipset on the mobo has been on approved lists from a couple interfaces that i have seen.
#1272
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #1272
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Juicen View Post
regarding the monitors i believe you can use duals no problem with the 3770
when using a mobo that has multiple video outputs. ie hdmi and dvi.

my current mobo/cpu/ram setup is gigabyte Z77 UD5H/ i3-3225/gskill ripjaws x 32gb(because i got a killer deal) and i plan on upgrading to the i7-3770k and using the i3 for a family build. so far its a stable setup, running W7 ultimate, but i havent pushed it at all. just testing with some guitars and loading up tracks with plugins.
and for what its worth, the VIA firewire chipset on the mobo has been on approved lists from a couple interfaces that i have seen.
In an effort to keep costs manageable I was initially thinking of sticking to a VGA/DVI combination of monitors, although it is very tempting to spring for a full dual digital video solution.

I have spent the WHOLE day catching up on the evolving 3770 versus 3820 saga and I see some charts putting one in front of the other and another chart showing the opposite.

One aspect I need to consider is the apparent cost of the mobo, I need to start assembling a list of candidates in order to see this for myself.

The onboard Firewire you describe sounds very interesting... I am a big Presonus user so the intention was always to at the very least get myself a good PCI-Firewire card. This may simplify things.

In the end, I'm trying to avoid hitting one of those classic "oh, I didn't take such and such aspect into account" and end up not getting the best bang for my buck. I need to be at the point where I do NOT need to look at any CPU meter in fear of having hit the ceiling on available computing power. The less bouncing and pre-mix tweaking I need to do, the more I can focus on the final product and that will save me a great deal of time and let me focus on the creative side of the whole process.

Back to reading....
and thank you very very much for your input, I'll be looking over my suppliers' web sites to gather pricing info for the hardware you mentioned.
#1273
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #1273
Lives for gear
 
DAW PLUS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Germany, Worldwide
Posts: 3,084
My Recordings/Credits

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominikde View Post
Hello,

this is my final build:

CoolerMaster Silencio 650
Intel Core i7-3770K CPU
Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev.A (BW)
Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
16GB-Kit 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance PC3-14900U CL9-10-9-27

1x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - system
2x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - sample
3 x HDD WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB (Project)
4x CnMemory Airy 3TB USB 3.0 8,9cm (3,5") (Backup)

RME HDSPe AIO PCIe
UAD 2 PCIe
Win 7 HP 64
Cubase 5.5 - 32/64
Komplete 4 / 7 - 32/64
Note that Windows Home Premium will not allow you to upgrade RAM if you ever need more.
#1274
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #1274
Gear Head
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleTransAm View Post
In an effort to keep costs manageable I was initially thinking of sticking to a VGA/DVI combination of monitors, although it is very tempting to spring for a full dual digital video solution.

I have spent the WHOLE day catching up on the evolving 3770 versus 3820 saga and I see some charts putting one in front of the other and another chart showing the opposite.

One aspect I need to consider is the apparent cost of the mobo, I need to start assembling a list of candidates in order to see this for myself.

The onboard Firewire you describe sounds very interesting... I am a big Presonus user so the intention was always to at the very least get myself a good PCI-Firewire card. This may simplify things.

In the end, I'm trying to avoid hitting one of those classic "oh, I didn't take such and such aspect into account" and end up not getting the best bang for my buck. I need to be at the point where I do NOT need to look at any CPU meter in fear of having hit the ceiling on available computing power. The less bouncing and pre-mix tweaking I need to do, the more I can focus on the final product and that will save me a great deal of time and let me focus on the creative side of the whole process.

Back to reading....
and thank you very very much for your input, I'll be looking over my suppliers' web sites to gather pricing info for the hardware you mentioned.
most of the motherboards that can make use of on board video typically have vga/dvi/hdmi. you can make use of the hdmi with an hdmi to dvi cable

here is a pcie firewire card that is on the presonus list
Newegg.com - SIIG FireWire 2-Port PCIe Model NN-E20012-S2

i am using a Presonus Firestudio 26/26.
#1275
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #1275
Gear maniac
 
Marbarbaar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland
Posts: 208

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominikde View Post
Hello,

this is my final build:

CoolerMaster Silencio 650
Intel Core i7-3770K CPU
Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev.A (BW)
Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
16GB-Kit 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance PC3-14900U CL9-10-9-27

1x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - system
2x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (MZ-7PD256BW) - sample
3 x HDD WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB (Project)
4x CnMemory Airy 3TB USB 3.0 8,9cm (3,5") (Backup)

RME HDSPe AIO PCIe
UAD 2 PCIe
Win 7 HP 64
Cubase 5.5 - 32/64
Komplete 4 / 7 - 32/64
I noticed you chose the 840's. Recently I'ven been advised to go for the 830's as they are a lot cheaper than the 840's. At least, that's so where I live. Might be different for you. If not, be sure to research this.

I've only found evidence of an abysmal speed advantage with the 840 versions, and only in benchmarks; in real life situations the difference will not even be noticeable. As I see it, hardly worth the extra dough. Besides, the 830 already have a great 'track record'. Ugh, terrible unintended pun.
#1276
31st December 2012
Old 31st December 2012
  #1276
Lives for gear
 
DAW PLUS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Germany, Worldwide
Posts: 3,084
My Recordings/Credits

The 840 replaces the 830, the latter are hard to get, only stock leftovers at shops.
The hardware is very different and much more picky regarding SATA3 specs.
#1277
31st December 2012
Old 31st December 2012
  #1277
Gear interested
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAW PLUS View Post
Note that Windows Home Premium will not allow you to upgrade RAM if you ever need more.
Hi.
I think about that. In the moment 16GB is enough to start.

When Intel brings a 6core or 8core cpu for the ivy bridge mainboards,
then i will update the hardware with a 6/8core update.

At this time i will think about this:
Windows 9 pro?
32 GB RAM

Thank You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marbarbaar View Post
I noticed you chose the 840's. Recently I'ven been advised to go for the 830's as they are a lot cheaper than the 840's. At least, that's so where I live. Might be different for you. If not, be sure to research this.

I've only found evidence of an abysmal speed advantage with the 840 versions, and only in benchmarks; in real life situations the difference will not even be noticeable. As I see it, hardly worth the extra dough. Besides, the 830 already have a great 'track record'. Ugh, terrible unintended pun.
Hi.

I Think between the 830 and 840 Basic Version is not so much difference but between the 830 and the 840 pro is more difference.

The 840 pro beats the 830 in many important points.

But you are right, the difference between this drives is not so big.

Thank You
#1278
31st December 2012
Old 31st December 2012
  #1278
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 168

yeah also have the 840 pro 256gb, what a little monster. When I got it I thought man can this be real?? It was so light... When you are used to old fashioned disks this a kind of change....
#1279
1st January 2013
Old 1st January 2013
  #1279
Lives for gear
 
scorpix74's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Paris

I subscribe to this thread e
#1280
8th January 2013
Old 8th January 2013
  #1280
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 4

Hey guys

I have recently bought a RME FF800 but I'm not sure for wich MOBO to go.
Asus P8Z77-V Pro or Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H

The Gigabyte has Firewire onboard.
#1281
8th January 2013
Old 8th January 2013
  #1281
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 10

Does anyone have experience with desktop PC cases that have handles on them, such as this one?
Newegg.ca - COOLER MASTER CM Storm Scout 2 SGC-2100-KWN1 All Midnight Black Appearance: Polymer, Coated Steel Mesh and Body ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Good or bad experiences? Good idea? Bad idea? Portability is important since I'd need to move the PC between two studio locations.

Maybe there are better cases for this sort of duty?
(and I admit: I'm tempted by ADK's "power" laptops, but there's a $$ premium involved for that luxury!)
#1282
11th January 2013
Old 11th January 2013
  #1282
Gear Head
 
Mattydeath's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Lubbock TX
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleTransAm View Post
Does anyone have experience with desktop PC cases that have handles on them, such as this one?
Newegg.ca - COOLER MASTER CM Storm Scout 2 SGC-2100-KWN1 All Midnight Black Appearance: Polymer, Coated Steel Mesh and Body ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Good or bad experiences? Good idea? Bad idea? Portability is important since I'd need to move the PC between two studio locations.

Maybe there are better cases for this sort of duty?
(and I admit: I'm tempted by ADK's "power" laptops, but there's a $$ premium involved for that luxury!)
Hey man check out stuff from bitfinix. The survivor has handles and it's an excellent case.
#1283
12th January 2013
Old 12th January 2013
  #1283
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 580

I kinda wish my case had handles...although I do more than just audio so it's meant for easy upgrades and ease of cleaning. It has air filters for the intake fans and power supply fan. Make sure you guys look into the intake filters.....important for dust. My case is now hard to find... the Lancool K63. More so a gaming case though over an "audio" case. But I only do ITB work so...it doesn't matter how loud the case is.
#1284
13th January 2013
Old 13th January 2013
  #1284
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Hey guys,

i'm currently trying to set up a new rig so i come to get some advice.

I will do ITB production, little recording and a lot of composition and mockup production with HUGE libraries.

So i'm going:

Case: Fractal Define XL
CPU: I7 3930K ivy
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion*
GPU: GIGABYTE NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 OC*
RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16 Go (2 x 8 Go) DDR3 2400 MHz CL10
CPU cooler: XIGMATEK Prime SD1484
PS: Coolermaster Silent pro gold 1200
HD: Probably an SSD to put my libraries on but i don't know what's good on the market now. I already have one for my setup.
I want to build a software raid 5 as a backup too.

Case: No question
CPU: Can get advice but seems ok to me
Mobo: Has everything i could need
GPU: Advice needed. Need to plug dual screen easily. Need to be as quiet as possible.
Ram: Need advice. Don't know if i'd better get more with less Mhz or the contrary.
The one referenced here is very expensive.
CPU cooler: seems to be efficient and silent.
PS: Overkill seing my rig? or ok?
HD: Advice welcome

If you can give me some help or tell me on what could i save some money to invest in a more important part...

Furthermore, my current rig is still in good shape, do you think i could use it in some way with my new setup? in serial or whatever...

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Busdriver; 14th January 2013 at 12:13 PM.. Reason: Change in Mobo & GPU
#1285
14th January 2013
Old 14th January 2013
  #1285
Lives for gear
 
bambamboom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 588
My Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busdriver View Post
I want to build a software raid 5 as a backup too.

Raid 3/4/5/6 are all pure evil. Crappy RAID haters unite! Join BAARF!

BAARF member's
#1286
14th January 2013
Old 14th January 2013
  #1286
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 2,007

Quote:
Originally Posted by bambamboom View Post

Raid 3/4/5/6 are all pure evil. Crappy RAID haters unite! Join BAARF!

BAARF member's
Raid 0 rules!
#1287
14th January 2013
Old 14th January 2013
  #1287
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Mountain US
Posts: 3,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busdriver View Post
Hey guys,

i'm currently trying to set up a new rig so i come to get some advice.

I will do ITB production, little recording and a lot of composition and mockup production with HUGE libraries.

So i'm going:

Case: Fractal Define XL
CPU: I7 3930K ivy
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion*
GPU: GIGABYTE NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 OC*
RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16 Go (2 x 8 Go) DDR3 2400 MHz CL10
CPU cooler: XIGMATEK Prime SD1484
PS: Coolermaster Silent pro gold 1200
HD: Probably an SSD to put my libraries on but i don't know what's good on the market now. I already have one for my setup.
I want to build a software raid 5 as a backup too.

Case: No question
CPU: Can get advice but seems ok to me
Mobo: Has everything i could need
GPU: Advice needed. Need to plug dual screen easily. Need to be as quiet as possible.
Ram: Need advice. Don't know if i'd better get more with less Mhz or the contrary.
The one referenced here is very expensive.
CPU cooler: seems to be efficient and silent.
PS: Overkill seing my rig? or ok?
HD: Advice welcome

If you can give me some help or tell me on what could i save some money to invest in a more important part...

Furthermore, my current rig is still in good shape, do you think i could use it in some way with my new setup? in serial or whatever...

Thanks in advance!
Looks like a solid build, but GPU appears to be overkill for just two screens and DAW. It's a good one for GPU acceleration of HD video editing. If you play PC games, then that's a different story. Fanless GPU would be just fine (and replaceable, if you don't like).

1200W PSU sounds like overkill to me, if you choose fanless GPU.
#1288
14th January 2013
Old 14th January 2013
  #1288
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Quote:
Originally Posted by bambamboom View Post

Raid 3/4/5/6 are all pure evil. Crappy RAID haters unite! Join BAARF!

BAARF member's
i... i don't even...
Could you develop please?

Quote:
Looks like a solid build, but GPU appears to be overkill for just two screens and DAW. It's a good one for GPU acceleration of HD video editing. If you play PC games, then that's a different story. Fanless GPU would be just fine (and replaceable, if you don't like).

1200W PSU sounds like overkill to me, if you choose fanless GPU.
Yep i figured i would finally go for a 1000w PSU.
For the GPU i struggle to take a decision.
I'm working on film and games music and need a decent quality.
Any idea about the RAM? Much for less MHz or contrary?
#1289
15th January 2013
Old 15th January 2013
  #1289
Lives for gear
 
DAW PLUS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Germany, Worldwide
Posts: 3,084
My Recordings/Credits

Even 1000W is over the top. Do you do gaming or video with that rig?
Currently testing 9 systems, each with an AMD W9000, S400 sync board and Deltacast capture cards. At full load, they eat up 450 Watt. Note that the W9000 eats 125 Watt more than a non OC GTX660.
Decent power supplies are protecting very well against any kind of fluctuation and peaks.
#1290
15th January 2013
Old 15th January 2013
  #1290
Lives for gear
 
login's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,068
My Studio

1000w PSU are for multiple GPU configuration. no place for them in a DAWcomputer imo.
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Aaroneous / Studio building / acoustics
60
waynejoshua / Photo diaries of recording studio construction projects
75
jkretz / Studio building / acoustics
11
Windsinger / Bass traps, acoustic panels, foam etc
5

Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.