pro tools 9 compatible computer
New Reply
Subscribe
jtwoods4
14th November 2010
Old 14th November 2010
Gear Head

pro tools 9 compatible computer

I am an information technology consultant. For years I have built my own computers. I recently ordered pro tools 9. I noticed that the avid website recommends certain computers for use with pro tools 9. These computers are overpriced dell and hp workstations. I'm going to build a custom pc instead. Is there anything I need to watch out for when building a custom pc for pro tools 9? Do the recommended compatible dell and hp computers have anything special that I need to know about?

For example, is there any reason I cannot use an ssd drive. Avid it says they have not tested these drives with pro tools 9. But there is nothing different about how these drives work compared to regular hard drives as far as communication with the rest of the computer.

What about laptops? Are they powerful enough to record 16 tracks without any problems?
14th November 2010
Old 14th November 2010
Lives for gear

the big things to look out for are chipsets (nvidia seem to cause problems as will mismatched chipsets), FW cards (TI chipset is essential), drives (speed for internal and FW only for external) and graphics cards.

if you want to learn more than the avid site offers, go an register at the DUC avid forums and look up the i7 thread in the "protools LE for PC" area. i got an i7 custom built to the best working specs in that thread and everything is smooth as butter with it.

there is no black and white with protools on pc and many have success running unsupported systems (i ran LE on a stock dell p4 for a long time) but when you run into trouble and go to avid for support the first thing you'll be told is that your system isn't supported.
jtwoods4
14th November 2010
Old 14th November 2010
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtech View Post