New DAW Recommendations?
New Reply
Subscribe
Tom C
16th June 2010
Old 16th June 2010
Gear nut

New DAW Recommendations?

I've been recording with Cubase for a number of years (currently Cubase 4 on a Macbook Pro, MOTU Traveler audio interface), and I'm hoping to get some opinions about the newer DAW software out there.

I like the idea of a platform that's more intuitive to use. I'm a songwriter / musician, mainly recording myself, using a combination of midi, virtual instrument tracks, and of course audio. I've done fine with Cubase, but the program is pretty deep, and involves a lot of left brain activity to get the job done.

I'm interested in Propellerhead's Record, and Presonus's Studio One (or ..?). Both claim to be designed more for musicians than engineers, with simple and intuitive user interfaces.

Record claims its digital mixer is modeled after an SSL. Studio One talks about its state-of-the-art audio engine. I always assumed that the sound of DAW recordings was determined more by the audio interface, with its mic pre's and converters making the biggest difference. Once the signal is in the DAW, it's all one's and zero's - right?

Does anyone have any experience with these two DAW's (or any others with the above considerations), and compared their "sound" to Cubase?
16th June 2010
Old 16th June 2010
Lives for gear

are you unhappy with cubase?

don't get sucked into other daws marketing hype. UNLESS you are very unhappy with your current daw, the grass is not greener on the other side. Save your money!

That being said if you are unhappy with cubase, then record and studio one are very different products. Record won't load 3rd party plugins like VST or AUs, but it is rock solid and easy to use. If you get reason with record you have lots of instrument and fx options. I don't know much about studio one, but it seems like it can pretty much do anything that every other daw can out there can do.