Gigabyte GA G31M-ES2L DPC Latency spikes
New Reply
Subscribe
Jazz Thieves
1st April 2010
Old 1st April 2010
Gear nut

Gigabyte GA G31M-ES2L DPC Latency spikes

Does anyone else use this with a q6600??

I am getting intermittent spikes of up to 18000us. I went and bought another one and got the same.

I have disabled all network adapters etc, and did a fresh windows 7 64 bit install. Also d/l latest bios update.

Would like to hear if anyone has this setup working okay. Since doing a search I see that Gigabyte are known for their DPC issues.

Thanks
2nd April 2010
Old 2nd April 2010
Lives for gear

turn off any thermal throttling in the bios.Gigabyte make great DAW motherboards if you know how to set them up. I've been running gigabyte MOBO's for about 3 years now since changing from ASUS,never had a problem.

C1E,Speedstep are two of the main biggies to turn off.

MC
Jazz Thieves
2nd April 2010
Old 2nd April 2010
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by norbury brook View Post
turn off any thermal throttling in the bios.Gigabyte make great DAW motherboards if you know how to set them up. I've been running gigabyte MOBO's for about 3 years now since changing from ASUS,never had a problem.

MC
Many thanks for taking the time to reply. Spikes have gone, great advice
20th May 2010
Old 20th May 2010
Gear nut

same problem

i had the same problem on the same board GA G31M-ES2L with a q8200 chip and windows 7 64bit.
i thought it was my presonus firestudio mobile or wireless lan card. but it wasn't either.
i did the bios disable c1e thing and disable thermal thing but still had some high dpc latencies. Then read on another post about power saving options changes that worked and i changed my power plan from balanced to high performance in the windows power options menu and that got rid of the high dpc latencies for me.
Thanks a bunch guys
4th June 2010
Old 4th June 2010
Gear interested

Quote:
turn off any thermal throttling in the bios.