pod 2.0 or pod XT?
erikjamesmusic
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Gear nut

pod 2.0 or pod XT?

i'm a tv/film composer, and i thought guitar rig 3 would be perfect for live guitar tracking. turns out, no matter what the buffer size, there's always a latency, and in my opinion this is not conducive to musical playing.

i'm going to purchase an external guitar amp/simulator, and i'm wondering what your opinions are: pod xt or 2.0? i used to have a VOX tonelab that i liked OK for vintage sounds but not for modern stuff. I like whatever is quick, easy, and musical for a great take.

thoughts?
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
What about a smaller amp for sounds. I ditched my pod x3 for a fender Vibro Champ XD and couldn't be happier! No need to run it loud. You can get great sounds at low volumes.
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Lives for gear

not sure of budget but i have a POD XT Pro and i purchased a Fractal Audio AXE FX standard a while back and IMHO its much much better than the POD so if your looking for an outboard piece thats how i would go

Welcome - Fractal Audio Systems / Atomic Amplifiers
erikjamesmusic
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Gear nut

fractal thing is too expensive. i wanna spend $300 max.

checked out the fender vibrochamp. i had a hotrod deluxe for a while that i sold because i didn't have room for it in my apt. i would, of course, much rather have a real amp, but the size of my studio won't allow for it right now. that's why the pod is so appealing.

what didn't you like about the x3, henge?
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Gear addict

IF your using PT, Eleven is the shit! As the other person said the Axe Fx is the absolute tits.
erikjamesmusic
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Gear nut

I'm looking for a hardware piece. I'm on DP6, anyhow, and i already have guitar rig 3.

any other experiences with the pods?
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
Lives for gear

Quote: