New Reply
Subscribe
sHOWpONY
30th June 2009
Old 30th June 2009
Gear nut

Send a message via Skype™ to sHOWpONY
Best Value DAW PC laptop

OK, before you ask, I did a search and didn't find any specific answers.

I'm an audio engineer from New Zealand, on holiday in Europe and wanting to work on demos for my band's new album. I'm returning to NZ in Dec 09 so I have time to kill.

My question:
What's the minimum laptop spec's required to record audio?

Assume that I'll probably use a USB or firewire sound card and run adobe audition. I'll probably record audio direct to the laptop harddrive and would run audition with a common array of vst plugins (verb, compression, delays, eq's).
My recording genre is mainly pop/rock.

I'm asking this Q because I have a limited budget and every time I look at computers, I can always 'just spend another $50 and get better spec's.
I know I'm heading down the dual core/2 Gb ram track, but unsure whether there are particular processors to avoid, or conversely, good processors to go for.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.
1st July 2009
Old 1st July 2009
Gear interested

get a mac

please tell me that you will get a mac

2 years ago i spent 3 wicked weeks trying to get my laptop pc 2 gig dual core to load pro tools

of course that pro tools

get a mac

just freindly advice

j
sHOWpONY
1st July 2009
Old 1st July 2009
Gear nut

Thanks bluecatjak. I used to be a 'mac man', problem is, I've spent too much money on pc software and it's kinda crazy to change now. I have a really good dual core athlon desktop pooter back home in a full studio and it's run without a hitch for a couple of years.

I need a laptop....any more comments anyone???

Cheers
1st July 2009
Old 1st July 2009
Lives for gear

Good luck.
1st July 2009
Old 1st July 2009
Gear Head

I'm also looking into buying a new laptop, tho I'm looking more maximal than minimal configuration.