Login / Register

Switch from VS1880 to computer based DAW?
New Reply
Subscribe
jnorman
2nd February 2009
Old 2nd February 2009
Lives for gear

Switch from VS1880 to computer based DAW?

i have been using roland VS1880 for several years now, and know it well. it does reasonably good work for me, though it has its limits and at this point is getting a little long in the tooth - dont know how much longer it can last before losing the HDD or having some other hardware problem.

so, i am considering what to do next - i could get a newer VS, like the 2480 or 2400, and stick with the system i know, plus the VS machines offer a nice useable control surface with tactile faders, etc. i mix down in realtime to an external CD recorder.

or i can get a new computer dedicated to just audio. moving to a mouse based control on a screen will probably not be as easy as having a dedicated hardware control surface. a computer system would offer the ability to use plugins for convolution reverb, which might be nice. i would probably try Reaper, but any new software would involve a learning curve, whcih i dont have much time for.

i could use a little advice - thanks for any thoughts.
2nd February 2009
Old 2nd February 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnorman View Post
but any new software would involve a learning curve, whcih i dont have much time for.
If you think you dont have time for the learning curve then you need to stay with whats working for you. You WILL have a a very large curve with the PC route, you have to accept that or not bother. I have a VS2480CD here btw and also do computer as well.
Problem with the 2480 is its discontinued.

Reaper would be a great place to start as its only $50 for the app. It will give you way more power than you ever dreamed of with your 1880. You can use any VS as a control surface with Reaper but you have to program it which again is a learning curve