Setting up a keyboard in Cubase
New Reply
Subscribe
Hope209
14th July 2007
Old 14th July 2007
Lives for gear

Setting up a keyboard in Cubase

My friend is letting me borrow his Motif ES keyboard but I'm having trouble setting it up in Cubase. I have a USB cable running from the Motif to my computer. I created a MIDI track in Cubase and set its input to the Motif Port 1. I press a button on the motif and the meter will move in Cubase so I know its connected right. I also know MIDI doesn't play audio, but how do I route it so I can hear the audio (im pretty new to cubase)? I also downloaded Yamaha's Studio Manager and Multi-Part Editor which allows you to go thru the motif's library from within cubase.
14th July 2007
Old 14th July 2007
Gear nut

Send a message via AIM to Red_venom
Set the output to the Motif too? Then make sure you have an audio track with the inputs that Motif is using.

You basically need it so that you hit a key on the Motif and it sends data to Cubase, Cubase will send it back and trigger the Motif as well. To accomplish this you need Midi going in and out AND the audio out from the motif connected to your interface/soundcard.
Hope209
14th July 2007
Old 14th July 2007
Lives for gear

I've never tried running a keyboard USB before, I used to run the MIDI ins/outs and two stereo 1/4'' into a preamp. Does a USB provide MIDI info AND audio? All the VST connections stuff is a bit confusing. How do I access the yamaha multi-part editor from within Cubase? Thanks for the help!
14th July 2007
Old 14th July 2007
Gear addict

Send a message via Skype™ to andyspiller
Firstly, Do you have the correct USB Driver

Download - Yamahasynth.com

Secondly in Utility check that the Control/Midi Input selector is allocated to USB and the direction is in/out (I am presuming that this feature is the same as the Motif XS - if not I apologise).

3rdly you need to be in Song Mode for the Motif to react multitimbrally.